Skip to content!

Young Researchers

DIW Berlin promotes young scientists through closely interlinked structured programs both in the doctoral phase and in the subsequent research phase. Beginning in 2019, the doctoral students and the temporarily employed postdocs at DIW Berlin will be funded under the umbrella of the newly founded Berlin School of Economics (BSE). Along with DIW Berlin, seven other institutions are participating in the BSE: Humboldt University of Berlin, Free University of Berlin, Technical University of Berlin, the European School of Management and Technology (ESMT Berlin), Hertie School of Governance, University of Potsdam, and the WZB Berlin Social Science Center.

The DIW Graduate Center remains a department at DIW Berlin and is responsible for the needs of doctoral students.

PhD Education at the Berlin School of Economics

The Berlin School of Economics is a center of excellence for training and promoting young researchers at DIW Berlin and seven other Berlin research institutions. It offers outstanding doctoral students from all over the world a four-year structured doctoral program in economics. After the course phase, the BSE PhD students based at DIW Berlin work together with the institute’s research departments, gain valuable international experience through internships, and learn to advise politicians and businesses. During this time they will be supervised by the DIW Graduate Center Team (GC-Team).

Postdoc Promotion

The postdoc program at the Berlin School of Economics is funded by the Leibniz Association and coordinated by DIW Berlin. The structured funding program for doctoral students in economics was founded at the beginning of 2016 by seven universities and research institutes in Berlin. Through comprehensive offers in the areas of recruiting, research, guidance, networks, and skills and placement, first-class young researchers will be recruited by the participating institutions and accompanied and promoted in this important career phase.

Get in touch